Declaration of Independence of Malaya Declaration of Independence of Malaya

Setting the Date of Independence to be oThe Federation of Malaya's independence was officially declared at exactly 9.30 am on 31 August 1957. The Proclamation of Independence ceremony was held at the Merdeka Stadium in the presence of more than 20,000 people including the Malay Rulers, special guests from abroad, members of the Cabinet of the Federal Government and members of the public. On this historic ceremony, representative of Queen Elizabeth II, Duke of Gloucester submitted the Instrument of Independence to the Prime Minister marking the end of British protectorate over Malaya. The declaration of Independence of the Federation of Malaya was read by YTM Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra. Upon completion of reading the declaration, Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra hailed 'MERDEKA' seven times and was echoed by thousands of people who flooded the Stadium. This ceremony was followed by the calling of azan which symbolises Islam as the official religion of the newly independent nation, followed by the Federation of Malaya flag raising ceremony, accompanied by the national anthem 'Negaraku'. A total of one hundred and one cannon shots volleys were fired marking the Federation of Malaya as an independent and sovereign country. 31 August 1957


The Prime Minister of the Federation of Malaya, Tunku Abdul Rahman hailed the 'Merdeka' cries during the country's Independence Proclamation Ceremony. This historic ceremony was witnessed by thousands of people who thronged Stadium Merdeka on 31 August 1957.