Independent Federation of Malaya Agreement Signed Independent Federation of Malaya Agreement Signed


The Federation of Malaya Independence Agreement was signed between the Malay Rulers with Sir Donald MacGillivary, High Commissioner of the Federation of Malaya on behalf of Her Majesty Elizabeth II on 5 August 1957. This historic ceremony which took place at King's House, Kuala Lumpur had a total of 15 main signatories, comprising of British High Commissioner to Malaya, eight of the Malay Rulers , Crown Prince of Johore and five Speakers with ultimate authorities from Negeri Sembilan (other than the  Yang di-Pertuan Besar) as well as witnesses to the signatories who had signed this agreement. This agreement was signed in 40 copies, 20 copies in Malay and 20 more in English using the special writing pen of the Federation of Malaya Agreement, 1957. In accordance with Article 3 of this agreement, which stated that effective as of 31 August 1957, the Malay States and Straits States would  be established as a new Malay Federation, called the "Persekutuan Tanah Melayu" , or in English as the Federation of Malaya. This agreement had been enforced throughout the Federation of Malaya on 31 August 1957 when the Duke of Gloucester officially relinquished the British colonial power and authority
The Malay Rulers were being photographed with Sir Donald MacGillivary on behalf of the British government at King's House, Kuala Lumpur on 5 August 1957 after the Federation of Malaya Agreement-Signing Ceremony, joined by the state dignitaries.