Bill Passed Malaya Bill Passed Malaya

On 15 August 1957, the Independence Bill for the Federation of Malaya Constitution 1957 was unanimously approved by the Federal Legislative Council that granted the independence status to the Federation of Malaya on 31 August 1957. The motion for the Independence Bill to be approved was proposed by the Chief Minister of the Federation of Malaya, YTM Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra and seconded by Encik Shamsuddin bin Naim, the Menteri Besar of Negeri Sembilan. With the approval of the Independence Bill, effective as of 31 August 1957, the Federated Malay States, Penang and Malacca will form a Federation named the Federation of Malaya. Ensuing that, the Independent Malayan Federal Constitution came into force effective as of 31 August 1957.

The Federal Constitution of Malaya,
The Constitution of Penang and Malacca. .